Fight Club – Philippians 4

Fight Clubs create a context for gospel-centered discipleship – studying the Scriptures to find your sin, fight your sin and trust your Savior.

Here’s a snapshot of one way to take notes for Fight Club during your personal study:

[4] Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, Rejoice. [5] Let your reasonableness be known to everyone. The Lord is at hand; [6] do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. [7] And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

– Philippians 4:4-7 (ESV)

Main Idea: In moments and seasons of anxiety, God holds out the promise of joy.

Sin Exposed: I get anxious about _______ because I’m worried that ________. This is a problem because anxiety is an attempt to play God and control my situation and circumstances on my terms.

Sin Fought: Confront every instance of anxiety through prayer – owning up to what’s going on and asking for help. There is great benefit from praying this way with other people.

Savior Found: On the cross, Jesus took control of every square inch of the universe and has promised to work out all things for my good. Even when I don’t  know or cannot imagine something good coming out of a particular set of circumstances, I can press into him knowing that his promise of peace (‘all things new’) is true and will bring about an unexpected joy that provides the stability and hope that I need.

Tags: ,

Leave a comment